True Blood: I Will Rise Up

What’s not to love about this episode?  Maryann.  And maybe Tara and Eggs by association.  And Eric’s manipulation of Sookie.

Sookie, don’t you think you could have just pulled the shrapnel out of Eric’s body with your fingers?  Well, I suppose if I’d just survived a suicide bomber, I probably wouldn’t be thinking clearly either.  But Eric certainly was.

I am no fan of Eric, but this was definitely Alexander Skarsgård’s night to shine.  From opportunistic self-serving asshole, to smug satisfaction at one-upping Bill, to tender lover (I think I heard half the country explode during Sookie’s dream), to fiery protector, to anguished, grieving soul.  (That is, if vampires even have souls.)

Oh episode, let me count the ways loved you.

  1. Sookie and Jason’s heart-to-heart talk.  I was the crying right along with both Stackhouses.  (And it was nice to give Ryan Kwanten something other than Jason’s bare ass, or his inability to think with his upstairs brain).
  2. Hoyt and Jessica.  (Does everyone else get this goofy-assed grin on their faces when these two are on screen?)  Hoyt standing up to his mama.  Jessica saying she became a vampire against her choice.  But Mama Fortenberry just wasn’t having any of it.
  3. Sam’s escape from jail.  Boy, it sure must be nice to be a shape-shifter when you’re stuck in jail.  (I actually thought Sam would turn into a rat, but a fly was so much better.  You don’t have to worry about gravity.  And people don’t jump on a chair shrieking when they see a fly.)   I’m wondering if Sam is going to finally corroborate Andy’s pig/orgy story.
  4. Lafayette.  Just because he’s Lafayette.  And he loves his cousin.  And he’s a bad ass.  And his mesh shirt with matching glove-like thingie and denim vest so rocks.
  5. I even loved the Newlins, appearing on tv with a big ol’ bruise from being paint-balled between the eyes last week.  Ha!  And Sarah trying to establish her ownvoice behind Steve’s yabbering, but it only coming out as gibberish.  Double ha!  Bonus love points for Jason seeing them for the nutcases they are.

And Godric’s goodbye.  I loved it so much, it doesn’t even get a number.  A lot of people are tired of Sookie’s “damsel in distress” mode, but I love her big, open heart, feeling the need to be with Godric at the end because he saved her life.  In the process, she saw Eric’s vulnerable side.  The bond between Godric and Eric was so beautiful, “Father, brother, son.”  I suppose seeing Eric’s enormous grief will soften Sookie towards him.

2 responses to “True Blood: I Will Rise Up

Leave a Reply

