Round up Recap, pt 1: True Blood

Oh my God!  Where have I been?  Cleaning out my den.  And catching up on Mad Men.  Oh, and working on a banner for the new (yet to be published) version of Sci Fi Chick/s.  So, let’s finish up our way-overdue True Blood season 2 thoughts.

Season finale:  Beyond Here Lies Nothin’

While they didn’t have their best writer on the script, it was still fairly satisfying.  The Maryann shenanigans have come to an end, but at the expense of Gran’s wedding dress.  However, I’ll forgive the show since it was an awesomely beautiful white bull who did her in.  I was pretty sure it was Sam, although I couldn’t figure out how he’d survived the sacrifice.  I’d forgotten about the healing power of vampire blood.

It was nice to see Bill and Sam working together.  They seem to have a good rapport.  I like it much better than when they’re at odds.  But then I’m one of those wimps who hates confrontation.

I guess this will be the end of the Jason/Andy friendship.  I’ll miss drunk, rebellious Andy.  I liked him a lot better than righteous, uptight Andy.

The Best & Worst of Season 2

As with season 1, I blew hot and cold about the second season.  Nonetheless, I think there was more to love this year.  And more to hate.  Let’s take a look:

The Worst

  • Maryann.  Oh jeez that got old fast.
  • The Dallas trip.  Well, most of it.  Lorena, Eric’s manipulations, that kind of stuff.
  • The Newlins.  I fast-forwarded through a lot of the Fellowship of the Sun crap.
  • The queen.  Maybe I’d feel differently if the actress could act.  (I don’t care if she is dating Alexander Skarsgård.)

The Best

  • Eric’s new hairstyle.  It made Eric look less severe, but also less menacing. Or maybe Alexander Skarsgård just didn’t want to wear the wig.
  • Lafayette lives! ( I knew he would since he was such a hit character in season 1.)  Even if he is more subdued now.
  • Godric.  I shall miss his quiet leadership.  Not to mention Eric’s undying love for him.
  • Hoyt and Jessica.  I found myself grinning from ear to ear whenever they were on.  Well, until the last two episodes.
  • The unlikely team of Jason and Andy.  I would love to see their friendship continue, but I’m afraid they’ll revert back to their respective roles of dick detective and town horndog.

Well, lookie there.  I have more likes that dislikes.  I guess that means I liked the season.  With reservations, of course.

Next up:  my saga of trying to read the novels.

One response to “Round up Recap, pt 1: True Blood

  1. I got tired of Maryann — in the book, the character was definitely background, simply because most of her chicanery occurred away from Sookie (the first-person POV does have its drawbacks) — but the way she ended was spectacular!

Leave a Reply

