The best of Supernatural season 1

Since “best” is the theme for NaBloPoMo this month, I thought I’d list some of my favorite things from Supernatural‘s first season.

  • Best episode.  I always thought it was a tie between “Faith” and “Something Wicked.”  But over the years, I’ve found myself rewatching “Something Wicked” more often.  Interestingly, it’s also the first Supernatural episode I ever saw.
  • Best song.  “Can’t Find My Way Home” by Blind Faith/Steve Winwood from “Route 666.”  I won 2 tickets to a Steve Winwood concert once.  But the song would still have won had I not been, like, the 6th caller.  😉
  • Best scene.  The diner scene in “Hell House.”  Dean is tormenting a pissy Sam with the Laughing Fisherman.   Only it turns Sam has the last laugh. Hee!
  • Best guest star.  I’m going with Bobby Singer.  I’m one of the few people who recognized his awesomeness before season 2.
  • Best girl of the week.  Layla from “Faith.”  I was rooting for the “good girl” and the “bad boy.”  But they just sat on the bed.
  • Best monster of the week.  The daeva(s) from “Shadow.”  In a season of creepies, the ones you couldn’t see were the scariest.
  • Jensen Ackles’ Emmy reel.  “Dead in the Water.”  It confirmed what I discovered in “Something Wicked”—this pretty boy is a damn good actor.
  • Jared Padalecki’s Emmy reel.  “Asylum.”  Our first look at “bad Sam” and his psyche.

And in honor of my awards, here are a few shiny little squares (aka icons or user picks at LiveJournal) commemorating some of my picks.

So, what were your favorite moments from season 1?

2 responses to “The best of Supernatural season 1

  1. Ooh, good list! Without rewatching the season right this minute, there’s only one thing that jumps out at me(heh) that I’d say different, and that’s the monster of the week. For me, it’s the shtriga in “Something Wicked”. That creepy bony hand skittering out of the shadows across the window is just the sort of thing I was afraid would appear in my room as a kid. To this day, I don’t let a hand or foot hang off the edge of the bed, because back then I was certain whatever was underneath would grab me if I did. Over time, I figured out if I stored a bunch of stuff under the bed, there was no room for monsters. Hee!

    • Well, the striga was on my short list, that’s for sure! And to think that was my first episode, and I still continued to watch the show. I’m sure it had something to do with the phrases “Monkeypuss” and “Better call the Coast Guard,” both of which I’ve used in my life. Oh, and probably also because Jensen Ackles was pretty and so angsty.

Leave a Reply

