Supernatural Short Take: Swap Meat

You know, this episode could have easily been called “Sam, Interrupted” too.  Ha!

I didn’t have a lot of high hopes for this episode.  I’m not sure why.  So much of this type of story depends on the talent of the younger actors, and that’s sometimes a gamble.  But these kids were quite good; certainly the kid who played Gary, and especially the girl who played Nora.  About 2/3 of the way through the episode, I found myself really enjoying it.  There’s only one thing that marred the story for me (discussed below).  Well, that, and Dean’s strangely orange-tan face in the first Impala scene with mini-Sam/Gary.  It was highly distracting, and not in a good way.  Which is saying something when the canvas is Jensen Ackles.

I wonder how much Jared Padalecki enjoyed playing that first scene with the woman at the bar, marveling at how glorious he looked, and later while flexing his muscles in the mirror.  I gotta tell ya’, the guy looks good in blue.  I thought Gary’s striped hoody and down vest looked awfully good on him.  Yeah, I know that’s probably not the look they were going for, but what can I say?  I’m a sucker for blue.

The only thing that bothered me about the episode was the total gloss-over of the friend’s death.  So, are the kid’s parents going to come home now and find their son dead in the basement (with his heart [literally] ripped out) while Gary and his new girlfriend just go on with their lives?  I forgive a lot of this kind of “oops” story telling from Supernatural, in that I don’t obsess about inconsistencies, or characters acting “out of character.”  But the fact that the friend’s death was never mentioned in that final scene bothered me a lot.  Enough to lessen my enjoyment of the show.  Perhaps I was supposed to have been so moved by the “deep, meaningful talk about family” that I’d forget poor Trevor (although he did bring it on himself).  Truthfully, though, I found Sam’s rain-soaked hair sticking to his face far more distracting—but in a good way this time.  😉

5 responses to “Supernatural Short Take: Swap Meat

  1. I loved that bar scene. Jared truly underestimates his comedic talents.

    Okay, I have to admit, the striped hoodie is growing on me. I still think it’s funny, though, because it’s so not Sam’s style.

    I had different issues, but I covered those in my recap on Damsel Undistressed, so I won’t go into it here.

    • Yeah, I don’t understand why Jared says he’s more comfortable with the dramatic stuff (although they say drama is easier to do that comedy). Jared himself is so funny, it’s not that big of a stretch,

      And true, the hooodie was definitely not Sam, but Jared stilled looked groovy in it.

      Must check out Damsel Undistressed. But maybe tomorrow, when I’m not so drunk. (Snow party was quite the hit!)

  2. The more you mention the Trevor thing, the more it bothers me, too. I’m gonna guess editing issue–how could they have totally abandoned it in the script? Perhaps I give too much credit…

    Otherwise, YES on everything you said! Especially the “tanning” issue. I didn’t notice it consciously the first time, which might have something to do with my TV settings, but the second time it was horribly obvious. It harkens back to the first season when the makeup artist “forced” them into tanning. You know what? Pale Sam and Dean are okay! Or at least tone it down a bit!

    • Oh yeah, maybe the Trevor thing was more editing probs than writing. I did notice Nora looked awfully upset when the Sam/Gary swap-back was going on.

      And damn, the tanning issue happened again this week! Note to make-up girls: Stop insta-tanning Dean & Sam!

  3. Pingback: Supernatural: ‘Swap Show @ Midnight’ | SciFi Chick (s)

Leave a Reply

