Are you ready for 8?

TV Guide‘s “Returning Favorites” issue (Sep 24-30) is out.   I picked it up mainly to see what they had to say about Supernatural, the show that got me hooked on sci fi tv in the first place.

Scene from Supernatural season 8 premiere

A scene from Supernatural’s season 8 premiere

I admit I haven’t kept up with the Supernatural news over the summer, other than knowing Sera Gamble left and Jeremy Carver is taking over as show runner.   I think that may be a good sign.  I never cared for Gamble, while Carver wrote a couple of my favorite episodes (“A Very Supernatural Christmas” and “Mystery Spot”).

There was a time when I couldn’t wait for a new episode to air.  I would even watch the summer reruns to savor the goodness.  That died with season 5 (the first season I stopped buying the DVDs), and although I still record the prime time repeats, I seldom watch them.  The exceptions this year were “Time After Time”  (with Elliot Ness !) and “Party On, Garth.”

I am concerned that the show is beginning to repeat itself.  Dean was left in purgatory at the end of season 7 (akin to his stint in hell at the end of season 3); and Sam has moved on and is out of “the life,” mimicking Dean’s foray into normalcy when Sam sacrificed himself to hell in order to prevent the apocalypse (end of season 5), which in turned mimicked Dean’s time in hell. Nor am I particularly enthusiastic about the Kevin and “word of God” storyline.  But I’ll keep an open mind.  In the past I’ve often been pleasantly surprised by episodes that initially sounded so-so.  (Perhaps because my expectations were not high.)

A couple tidbits that do excite me?  The Impala is back!  And Garth returns.

One response to “Are you ready for 8?

  1. Pingback: Supernatural season 8 begins! « SciFi Chick (s)

Leave a Reply

