Game of Thrones: Valar Dohaeras (301)

I’m not sure if it was the wine or not, but that was pretty decent.  Just one nudity scene (and quite erotic at that) and one grotesque scene (which I fast-forwarded through, not really being into nipple mutilation).  Even Ros was fully clothed.

Episode highlights, according to me:

  • Ghost!
  • Aberforth Dumbledore as Mance Rayder!
  • Unlike the dragons of Berk*, these dragons prefer their fish roasted rather than raw.
  • Obi Wan Kenobi!
Charles Dance portrayed Guy Perron in "The Jewel in the Crown."

Uber-dashing, yes?  And he was the good guy.

I’ve loved Charles Dance ever since he played the handsome, dashing British officer in The Jewel in the Crown (in the olden days of 1984).  He was the good guy then.  When did he start playing villains?  He’s terribly good at it.  Tywin Lannister, while villainous, is certainly multi-dimensional.  As much as I love Tyrion, and as much as Tywin’s  speech to his son was meant to be cold and cruel, there was truth in it.  I wish Tyrion would listen.  Tyrion is such a smart, capable figure, if he’d stop his debauchery (and lose Bronn; Podrick has certainly proven himself) he’d be a formidable force.  I live for the day Tyrion is victorious over the rest of his family.  However, I doubt that day will come.

I may dislike Ygritte and both versions of Ethel (Downton  Abbey), but Rose Leslie is incredible.  There’s no trace of flippant tart Ethel or downtrodden whiny Ethel.  Yes, Ygritte is flippant, but it’s a totally different kind of flippancy.

Kit Harrington plays Jon Snow in "Game of Thrones."

Jon Snow: Everyone’s favorite Night’s Watchman. After Samwell Tarly, of course.

Lady Margaery’s foray into the slums was intriguing.  I thought she was much too self-important for such an action, but it shows just how calculating she is.

My, my, Sansa is growing up.  (So too, I expect, are Arya, Bran and Rickon; but we haven’t seen them yet.)

*I just found out Kit Harrington is in How to Train Your Dragon 2.  Gosh, yet another reason to see it.  (Next year.)

[Photo credits:  Jon Snow, HBO; Charles Dance, jinni.com]

Leave a Reply

