The Hurrier I Go, the Behinder I Get

This is what happens when you lose internet access.  You get even more behind than you already were.  I’m not sure how (or if) I’ll ever get caught up.  How ’bout we start with what was nearly written prior to the blackout.

Agents of SHIELD:  The Hub (107)

Here’s where my lack of familiarity with the Marvel universe rears its head.  If Victoria Hand is an established Marvel character, I’m assuming she has red streaks in her hair.  Yep, Wikipedia tells me I’m right.  What about the Hub itself?  Has it appeared in the comic books before?

Fitz and Ward wait to be rescued by the rest of the team.

Up in the sky—it’s a bird; it’s a plane. No, it’s the Bus!

Even without the Marvel knowledge, I’m enjoying SHIELD more and more.  Not that this episode was better than last week’s; it wasn’t.  “The Hub” was predictable, but it also had some nice character development.  And it had its share of enjoyable moments, from dogless dog sleds to SHIELD’s appreciation for Coulson and his team.

Ward and Fitz go on a super-secret mission, and the one person who has no right to know anything about it pesters everyone.  Yes, Skye is her super-annoying self, but that’s nothing new.  I knew, with her curiosity and hacking skills, she’d discover something was amiss with the mission.  See?  Predictable.

Ward isn’t thrilled to be going on a mission with Fitz, whose clumsiness is highlighted by trying to push a cart through automatic doors.  But once in the field, Fitz proves himself highly useful.  (Again, predictable, but entertainingly so.)  He saves them from some angry Russians by short-circuiting the power, especially bothersome because there’s a soccer game on television.  When he restores the power, he’s treated as a comrade.  Ward looks on with… a blank expression.

Skye discovers there’s no extraction plan for Fitz and Ward—even though her bracelet supposedly limits her access.  Just go with it.  She’s incensed.   When she tells Coulson, he makes the tiniest change in expression showing us he didn’t know.  Clark Gregg is so good at changing Coulson’s entire demeanor with just the slightest facial movement.  Coulson confronts the mission overseer—or maybe the Hub’s head honcho?—Victoria Hand.  She says… crap, I don’t remember her excuse, which means it must have been lame.

Back in the field, Fitz disables a sort of dooms-day device that can detonate other weapons, including nuclear missiles.  Ward realizes there’s no extraction plan and tells Fitz he’ll finish the job, that Fitz needs to start running.  But Fitz refuses to abandon the mission and Ward.  It’s a good thing, because the device comes in handy when the two are besieged by the bad guys.

With no help from SHIELD, Coulson and rest of the team (which just happens to be the women 🙂 ) create their own extraction plan.  It’s pretty damn cool.  Who knew the Bus (I’m not sure that’s its official name, but I’m going with it) was equipped with a hovering capability and moveable engines?

Why was there no extraction planned for Fitz and Ward?  Because Victoria Hand knew Coulson and his team would discover it and come to the rescue.  It’s a great comment that tells us just how highly SHIELD thinks of Coulson.

There’s also some stuff about Skye’s parents and Coulson’s recovery.  I care more about the latter than the former, but even that doesn’t bother me.  So what if Coulson is somewhat artificial?  He’s still awesome.  No, I’m much more interested in Fitz’s prosciutto and mozarella di bufala sandwich (with just a hint of pesto aioli).   Yummmm.

2 responses to “The Hurrier I Go, the Behinder I Get

  1. I loved this episode. Number Two and I giggled like crazy over Fitz, and I think he’s my favorite character. That he blew the power so he could restore it and be a hero was awesome. I liked Ward in this one, too, because as by-the-book and lone-wolf as he is, he’s capable of having his mind changed, and he did show in subtle ways that he’s coming to care about the team he’s supposed to protect. The look on his face when he flashed the light and got no response was as good, IMO, as Coulson’s flickers of expression.

    Skye did annoy me more in this ep than she ever has before. I thought her and Jemma’s subplot was clumsily done overall. (She had Jemma install something in the panel that allowed her 3 minutes of access once she got in; that overrode her bracelet block.) I’m intrigued by how intrigued Coulson and May are by Skye’s parent mystery, though more because I love a mystery than because I care about Skye. So I guess I’m middle ground on her.

    With Coulson…before, whenever he said “It’s a magical place,” I got the feeling he was tweaking everyone with that statement, that he knew something about the lie that is Tahiti. But then in this ep he stumbled over it, as if it was automatic and he was just now realizing it. As if he’d been programmed. I REALLY don’t want him to be an LMD. 😦

  2. Pingback: So Many Shows, So Little Internet Quick Takes | SciFi Chick (s)

Leave a Reply

