Where Are the Posts (Part “A”)

The detectives meet to discuss the case.

The gang’s all here—except Rudy.

With most of the sci fi shows back, why haven’t there been any new posts?  Perhaps my winter ennui has set in.  I watch the shows, and enjoy them (to varying degrees), but haven’t felt a great urge to discuss them.  I will likely stop covering some of the shows, but haven’t decided which ones yet.  In the meantime, let’s catch up with the A shows.  That is, the shows which begin with the letter A, not the A-rated shows.

Almost Human

Dear Fox,

If you want suspense in your drama, don’t make the penultimate climax the (potential) demise of your main character.  Like that’s going to happen.  *sheesh*

Thank you,
Me.

These three episodes illustrate what’s wrong with the show; one-dimensional characters, repeated plots, no overall story arc.  If I continue covering Almost Human, it will most likely be from the technology perspective.  It’s much more interesting than the drama has been.

Arrhythmia (106)

Mid-21st century black market organ transplants have come a long way from the ol’ “wake up in a bathtub minus a kidney” routine.  Now it’s bio-mechanical hearts.  The episode had too many red herrings to count, but that’s to its favor.  The villain wasn’t the heart manufacturer’s CEO, or the surgeon.  The mortician (for lack of a better description), while not the primary bad guy, was perhaps the most nuanced villain this show has produced.  We wondered if he would really “pull the switch” on innocent people.  But once he did, all subtlety and remorse were gone.

I’m not sure what the purpose of the extra DRN was, unless it was to show Dorian’s “human” side.  But in this show, I’m not sure that’s a complement.  Dorian overstepped his bounds, but what would you expect from somone who has Kennex for a partner?

Simon Says (107)
A woman with a bomb collar receives help from Dorian and Kennex.

A damsel in distress receives help from Dorian and Kennex. Well, mostly Dorian.

This show certainly doesn’t know how to write sympathetic characters.  I’m trying to take Natalie’s advice and not groan so much at the ultimate evilness of each week’s villain.  Fortunately, watching Dorian on low power was a hoot.  His inappropriate behavior—even recognizing it and apologizing in advance—was a great take on what could be a great character.  Watching Dorian scale the side of a building, I ask again, how is an MX more advanced than a DRN?

And yeah, I was on pins and needles wondering if Kennex would make it out of his bomb collar alive.  Not!

You Are Here (108)

If you’re pulled into a story, would you be thinking how much this episode mirrored the previous two?  Does that mean the drama isn’t interesting enough to negate thoughts of the trivial?   A guy knows he’s going to be killed beforehand, but no one believes him.  And he ends up being killed by unknown forces.  Shades of “Arrhythmia.”  From “Simon Says,” a basically innocent guy is killed, but the baddie’s next target, a young woman, is saved by our detectives.  I suppose those who bitch about Supernatural‘s perceived misogyny (which really isn’t there) wouldn’t mind, but I do.  I don’t like predictability.

“You Are Here” finally resurfaced events from the premiere, but the promise of continuity and the continuing story line fell flat.  It didn’t advance the story much.

Agents of SHIELD

The show seems to be having trouble living up to its hype.  It’s enjoyable enough (some episodes more so than others) but it took me weeks before I watched “The Bridge.”  (In my defense, I was grieving.)  I haven’t watched any of these shows more than once, and you’ll find what makes the show memorable to me is not necessarily the main plot.  Is that an indication of my interest in the show?  I’m not sure if I’ll continue to review it.  Opinions, anyone?

The Bridge (110)
Mike Peterson is back and ready to roll.

Mike Peterson is back and ready to roll.

It’s the episode in which the team takes on the Centipede organization once again, but all I care about is the return of Mike Peterson.  The sympathetic, chemically-enhanced father from the series premier becomes part of the team.  He’s looking fit and eager to prove himself.  All the action leads up to the dramatic showdown on “The Bridge.”  In return for his son Ace, Mike hands Coulson over to Centipede.  It’s a shocker to us, but apparently not to Coulson.  I suppose we can take comfort in the knowledge that Coulson is okay with the exchange.  In the ensuing explosions, Centipede takes Coulson and Mike (in an effort to redeem himself?) runs back into the fire.  I’m holding out hope that the show doesn’t make Ace an orphan and that Mike is still alive.

The lesson?  Be careful what you wish for.

The Magical Place (112)
Po and Raina prepare to do their bad deeds.

Oh Raina, you could do so much better!

It isn’t Tahiti.  At least we learn Phil Coulson isn’t a robot.  So that’s a relief.   I’m sort of confused why the ‘rebuilding” of Coulson was centered on his brain, when his death was actually from a rod through his torso and heart.  Oh, who cares.  That scene of SHIELD working on Coulson’s brain (complete with a concerned Ron Glass) was one mega-creepy sight.

The good news is that Mike Peterson didn’t die at the end of “The Bridge.”  The bad news?  Death probably would have been preferable.  Now he’s covered in burns, missing one leg, and worst of all, has the dreaded eye implant.  Yikes!

In related events, I was totally wrong about the Clairvoyant, but the death of Po (sounds like a movie title, yes?) was great.

Seeds (112)

Kind of a throw-away episode.  Fitz and Simmons make a trip back to the SHIELD academy, but it’s not a particularly interesting one.  It could be the beginning of an established Marvel villain, although my lack of Marvel universe knowledge prevents me from knowing which one.

Then there was the requisite “Skye’s parentage” angst.  I’m not really interested.  The best part of that storyline?  When May confesses to Coulson she and Ward are sleeping together.  It’s the most human she’s been all season.  Too bad it was ruined by its rehash and standard responses at the episode’s end.

May and Coulson stake out an agent in Coulson's gorgeous red convertible.

Lola: SHIELD’s silent heroine, and convertible in more ways than one.

5 responses to “Where Are the Posts (Part “A”)

  1. My comments are going to be pretty random. Sorry. 🙂

    I don’t think it was possible for SHIELD to live up to the hype. Has there ever been a brand-new show that HAD so much hype? Not in my memory. So it was doomed to disappoint, I think. That said, I’m not disappointed. 🙂 Skye’s my least favorite of the team, but I LOVE Fitz-Simmons, I like Ward, I’m intrigued by May, and I think Clark Gregg kills it every week. The balance between episodic (what networks prefer) and ongoing (what makes for more compelling storytelling) is always difficult, and they are struggling a little, but the show makes me gasp often enough (Mike’s eye implant!) for me to have it in my top shows list.

    I really want to know what Skye is, and how they knew what she is, that made so many people willing to die for or kill for that baby. As for Coulson, they were stimulating his brain to keep him alive while they repaired the damage to his body. It wasn’t just the damage that the spear did physically to the structures in his chest, but the subsequent damage to the rest of his body. (Heart can’t pump, blood not moving, tissue dies, etc.) The disparity between SHIELD’s unwillingness to risk the whole for one agent or a team of agents with the extreme efforts to save Phil—I find that incredibly compelling, too. Why would Fury put him through all that?

    I agree with you on the writing and secondary characterization overall for Almost Human. I find the captain to be very weak, and the Minka Kelly character barely any better. But I love Kennex and Dorian SO MUCH, and the production values are high, so I’m still enjoying it and hopeful that it will improve. It really mirrors Castle for me—the two main characters had chemistry worth watching and the rest eventually filled in and deepened. If that doesn’t happen with AH, I will be very sad and miss Karl Urban and Michael Ealy very much.

    • I’ve watched only one episode of Castle (a later one), but I couldn’t tell you what it was about. I don’t see immense chemistry between Urban and Ealy, but there’s certainly enough to build on. (Perhaps I’m just spoiled by the Ackles/Padalecki chemistry, which, as we know, is off the charts.) It’s just frustrating that the show could be so much better. I love Lili Taylor, so I’m hoping there’s more the the captain than meets the eye. But this is Hollywood, and women can be so poorly written.

      You and I see pretty much eye-to-eye on the characters of SHIELD. I just don’t like Skye as much as you. And thanks for the brain surgery explanation. 🙂

      P.S. I started reading Soul of the Dragon last night. 🙂 What a clever concept! (And now I know #2’s name. It is #2, right? Not #1?)

      • Yeah, I wouldn’t say immense chemistry, but enough to be getting along with. 🙂 The captain seems to exist only as a stand-in for the viewer, asking questions and giving unnecessary “orders.” She did have one interesting episode, but I wasn’t really excited about the direction they went in with her.

        I’m so glad you’re reading SotD! And thank you! 🙂 But no, that’s #1. I began writing that book THAT long ago. *chokes* LOL

  2. Yeah, these are the two shows I was thinking of dropping too. They have both a few characters I’ve got attached to though (Skye, Fitz and Simmons in Shield, Dorian, Rudy and the captain in Almost Human), so even if I’m never that motivated in watching them I never really regret watching it afterwards, if it makes sense.
    Maybe I’ll go until the end of S1 for both shows, and if they don’t deliver on the finales, I’ll just not tune in for S2.

    • I’m like you. They aren’t “must see” shows for me, but I’m usually entertained and don’t regret watching them. I’ll continue to watch, just not sure I’m going to write about them. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

