Agents of SHIELD Season 2 Hypotheses

Prior to watching to second season premiere of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (which you will see referred to properly only this once) I read a spoiler that said Skye is an alien.  Yes, it was a joke, but it would have made her so much more interesting.

The regular agents of SHIELD are augmented by another team.

The gang’s all here, and then some.

“Shadows” was neither over- nor underwhelming.  It wasn’t a bad outing, but it didn’t motivate me to write anything about it.  Until I watched it a second time.

The first time around, my biggest question was “Who can you trust?”  So many possibilities!  First there’s Mack, Tripp’s mechanic buddy.  (He’s new, isn’t he?)  Then there’s Koenig (although, like John Cho, it’s hard to imagine Patton Oswalt to playing evil).  And lastly, there’s the ever-grumbling guy from Lucy Lawless’s team.  (Sorry, didn’t catch his name).

Watching the episode a second time cleared up a few things.  The grumbler’s name is Hunter.  The mysterious “he” who rewards Carl Creel with minerals he can absorb, is Reed Diamond (the ageless Whitehall).  And the goal of Coulson’s primary team (May, Skye and Tripp) was the “Quinjet,” the cloaking fighter plane.  (Although why did May escape via motorcycle?)  Yeah, yeah.  You may have made all those connections initially, but I did not.

More importantly (for blog purposes), the rewatch gave me pause to contemplate and amend my previous assessment of who to trust.  I herein give my theories for season 2:

Two observations lead me to believe Hunter and Koenig are fine.  The one we have to keep our eye on is Tripp.  Rationale:

  1.  Nick Blood is listed as a new series regular.  I initially thought this was the actor who plays Tripp, but it’s not.  Nick Blood plays Hunter.  Tripp is played by B.J. Britt.  So Hunter joins the team, while Tripp’s future is iffy.
  2. Tripp is trying to convince Skye that Koenig is a clone.  (Someone coined this as “Kloenig.”  Ha!)  Could he be trying to confuse Skye?

Skye is still bothersome.  They seem to be trying to make her into some kind of action hero (mini-May?). It’s not as annoying as making her the Special Snowflake, but Chloe Bennet is no action star.  Although I will give her props from her handling of Ward.  She didn’t succumb to his manipulation to personalize their talk, and in fact used her presence to motivate him to answer her questions.

Speaking of Ward, it took me three rewinds to recognize him!  Honestly, I have absolutely no idea what will happen with him this season.  Any thoughts?

Another question:  Is Hartley is really dead?  Will she return?  Someone said you don’t hire Lucy Lawless for a one-off.

One response to “Agents of SHIELD Season 2 Hypotheses

  1. I saw some interviews/spoiler columns that said yes, she was definitely only hired for this episode and her character is dead. But I saw some thing else that pointed out that in the Marvel Universe, being dead can just lead to a whole ‘nother kind of living. My daughter was VERY upset that the two new characters she liked so much were killed. Lance Hunter surviving didn’t appease her much.

    I think Tripp asking about Koenig is just audience stand-in. I think they’re LMDs, like people kept trying to say Coulson must be (SO SO glad he wasn’t, but I’d be okay if Koenig was. 🙂 ). But to throw water on your argument, BJ Britt IS a series regular. He was cast that way in February.

    That said, one of the things that’s great about the show but I hate hate hate is that we still can’t trust anyone. Tripp could still be Hydra. I thought it was going to be Adrian Pasdar’s character at the end instead of Whitehall. Every new person recruited is a potential sleeper. So it will keep us on edge, for sure!

Leave a Reply

