Procrastinator’s Roundup, Part 4: Terrific Tuesday

So many shows, only one night.  My poor DVR can’t keep up.  Which means I sometimes must resort to OnDemand. It’s nice that it’s available, but the broadcast networks won’t let you fast-forward through the commercials.  It’s like watching television c. 1980!

Supernatural

It was covered in Round-up #2.  but is included here for continuity.  It’s not the first show of the evening, nor is it currently first in my watching priority. Heck, I haven’t even watched “Paper Moon” (1004) yet.  Depending  on how the season pans out, it may deserve its own post.

The Flash

The S.T.A.R. Labs experts explain things to Barry Allen.

The S.T.A.R. Labs Stars: not a softball team

Do you ever watch a show and suddenly realize you’ve got a silly grin on your face?  Turns out I’m not the only one.  I’m not in the CW’s target demographic, yet I’m totally enjoying this show.  It’s engaging on many levels.

There’s something about Grant Gustin that immediately pulls you in.  I don’t know if it’s his “boy next door” persona, or the “dorky nerd” vibe, but he is Barry Allen, chronically late forensics scientist by day, fastest man alive by night.

I don’t know if my unfamiliarity with the DC Comics world is a benefit or a detriment.  On the one hand, not knowing the any of the characters or story allows me to enjoy what’s on my television without questioning anything.  Then again, I miss those small (and not-so-small) nods to the original story.  Example:  the name of Iris West’s boyfriend, Eddie Thawne, could be significant.  And I learned from those in the know that Robbie Raymond, who died in last week’s episode the night of the accelerator explosion, will return.  (Which makes sense given the actor who played him.)

The show is loaded with interesting characters and a big overarching mystery.  I took an immediate shine to Cisco Ramon,  His shine has worn a little recently, but every now and then he has a great scene.  Such as preventing this week’s villain from (literally) icing Barry by wielding a gigantic cold-ray gun, er vacuum cleaner.

Plus, it has Tom Cavanaugh playing the intriguing Dr. Hamilton Wells.  Is he a Good Guy or a Bad Guy?  I’m hoping for the former.  And lets not forget Jesse L. Martin, who replaced Benjamin Bratt on Law & Order, and sang one of my favorite songs from Rent, “I’ll Cover You.”

Agents of SHIELD

What a turn-around!  The show’s become populated with interesting characters, exciting situations, and new relationships, some nuanced, some blatant, all interesting.

In addition to late-first-season-comers Tripp and Koenig, we now have Hunter and Mack.  Hunter wasn’t particularly likeable in the first couple episodes, but he’s provided some great light-hearted moments.  Mack has helped a distraught Fitz.  Now the awesom Adrianne Palicki, er, Bobbi Morse, has joined the team!  I love all these characters; my fear is it’s too many.  Who will be a Hydra mole?

Even the bad guys are great.  Skye’s mysterious father is not only a “monster” but a bit of a quack as well.  Daniel Whitehall, the new Big Bad, appears to be not only Eeevil, but ageless too.  Hmm.  Plus they’re played by Kyle MacLachlan and a nearly unrecognizable Reed Diamond.

Forever

I haven’t watched it beyond the pilot.  After all, three shows in one night is quite enough.  But Natalie and Suzanne both seem to like it, so perhaps I’ll play catch-up with OnDemand.  Which means ala 1980, with the one advantage of replaying a line I might have missed.

6 responses to “Procrastinator’s Roundup, Part 4: Terrific Tuesday

  1. Yeah, Tuesday is the best night!

    I haven’t watched Paper Moon yet, either, because *gasp* Supernatural is my least compelling show to watch from Tuesday. Though I haven’t watched this week’s Flash yet, either (circumstances, not desire!).

    I’m not well versed in the DC universe, either, and feel the same way you do. Like you said, I can just enjoy the show for myself. And it’s not like we didn’t know her fiance was going to come back, right? No one saw him actually die. 🙂 But then, I missed the significance of her saying they were fire and ice (because both are destined to be super-somethings, according to the comics lore). But then I just read recaps by the people who did read the comics, and I can get that secondhand.

    Though…I’m not sure I want all this “destined to be” crap to apply to the show. I mean, it seems like EVERY member of Century City is going to be a hero or villain with powers someday. But that’s the thing about comics. They play the what-if game incessantly, restarting and rebooting and recreating everything ad nauseum. The uniqueness of the meta-human characters will be completely undermined if everyone is going there someday.

    Also, deviation can be *good*. It not only surprises everyone, but it honors the product, the story, rather than the source material. I didn’t watch the last few seasons of Smallville, but they ignored awesome Chloe in favor of highly annoying Lana and Lois, to the detriment of the show. In contrast, on Arrow, Oliver has way more chemistry with Felicity, who is way more worthy of him than Laurel, and they’ve acknowledged that and moved in that direction. Which has really fed the show’s success.

    Grant Gustin played a very unlikable character on Glee, and he’s so incredibly charming as Barry that I can’t even see that character in him at all. You’re right, absolutely perfect casting.

    We’ve got like 3 episodes of Forever piled up. A show I enjoy, but not one I’m compelled to watch until we’ve gotten the better stuff out of the way. 🙂

    • I went to the DC Universe wiki the other night, and holy smokes, it’s VAST. With all sorts of multiverses and versions of superheroes (Superman Earth-One, Flash Earth Prime.. lots of different Earths). But like you, I get my DC download from fans on message boards. It’s usually enough.

      I too am fine with the series making its own story. Hamilton Wells isn’t in the comics, nor is Joe West. (Iris is, but she’s from the 30th century. I know!) Besides, I doubt the all the comic stuff would translate to television anyway. I guess we must trust in the writers. 🙂

      • I didn’t realize Iris was from the future. Speculation has been that Wells is from the future (which I totally didn’t get when I watched the pilot, I thought other stuff) but also that he’s the whatever Eddie is supposed to become and naming Joe’s partner that is a red herring…it makes my head hurt! LOL So yeah, trusting the writers and taking the ride sounds just fine to me. LOL

        • I agree that some of the names are red herrings. Which makes the show all the more enjoyable for those of us not in the know. Although I think the fans who are familiar with the comics are just as interested as we are. I haven’t seen any complaining, unlike some other shows. *cough*Supernatural*cough*

    • ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

      Shadow looks a bit like Toothless. (And Kimmi was toothless, except for one lower canine.) But I don’t think he’d take to me putty wings on him. Heck, he cant’ even tolerate a collar. So the leash is out, too.

      (I love that the guy has to put on a wig to be Hiccup.)

Leave a Reply

