Superantural Redux

TNT is hosting a Supernatural marathon tomorrow (Wed, Jan 28).  I’m not sure what the special occasion is, but since they’re currently on the back side of the Great Season 8, I’m there!  Sure, I could just pull out the season 8 DVD set, but this way is lazier, even if it means fast-forwarding through the commercials.

Sam and Dean visit a ranch in Idaho to find a hell hound.

The Winchesters show off their dimples.

As it is, I watched “Trial and Error” again today.  I loved it when it first aired (it’s possibly my second favorite episode of season 8, after “Sacrifice”), and I think I love it even more now.  As if seeing the guys in geeky glasses and getting a look at a hell hound for the first time (just as creepy as one would imagine) wasn’t enough, we got a couple scenes of the brotherly love which makes this show so special.

Dean’s determined to keep Sam safe, believing his own life isn’t worth much, and he’s willing to die.  Sam says Dean’s life does matter.  Because Sam can see a future at the end of the trials, he should be the one to complete them so that they both can survive.  It’s a little heartbreaking since we know what’s coming.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about my favorite Supernatural episodes through the years and doing a(nother) retrospective.  Hmm… Should I do another Supernatural March Madness this year?  Nah, it’s too time-consuming, especially since March is not a rerun month.  Perhaps a June/July Jubilee would be a better alternative?  Or just a “Favorite Five” for each season?  So many options, so little discipline.

Tonight the awesome Charlie Bradbury returns, but seems she may not be so awesome.  Man, I hope they didn’t make Charlie a bad soul just because Felicia Day cut her hair.

One response to “Superantural Redux

  1. That was the first episode of season 8, I think, that made me feel the love. The brotherly moments you mentioned—those are the heart of Supernatural, and even though I really also loved the start of the trials and the journey they faced, those moments renewed my love for the show as a whole.

    I’m trepidatious about tonight’s episode. Narratively speaking, taking something that’s X and flipping it to Y can be great conflict, tension, and drama. It can create freshness, force the characters to make choices or look at the world differently, keep something great from getting stale. But the risk is ruining something the fans love, too. So we’ll see! 🙂

Leave a Reply

