Supernatural Favorites: Season 5

The real March Madness is in full swing, and I’m not even half-way through my top 32 episodes.  Plus, new Supernatural episodes have resumed, so now there’s that delay too.

Season 5 was not a favorite of mine.  In fact, it was the first time I didn’t buy the season DVD set.  Thank goodness for TNT reruns.  If I’m on the ball, I can record my favorites when they come ’round.  Better still, I can now buy individual episodes OnDemand to enjoy any time I want, without commercial interruption.

My go-to sites say the top episodes of season 5 are:

  1. Swan Song (522)
  2. Two Minutes to Midnight (521)
  3. (3-way tie):  Dark Side of the Moon (516); Point of No Return (518); The Devil You Know (520)

These all come from the back half of the season.  Eric Kripke must be pleased he ended his tenure on such a high note.  However, this list was quite a surprise to me. Hell, I can’t eve remember three of the episodes.

So here are the real my top season 5 episodes.

The End (504)

Perhaps I’m swayed by the inclusion of one of my all-time favorite songs, “Do You Love Me,” by the Contours, but I don’t think so.  It was one of the  most dramatic episodes of the season, and I’m shocked it’s not at the top of everybody’s list.

Jensen Ackles performed double duty admirably.  He’s so great at showing us Dean’s nuances, this was the perfect vehicle for him.  But the rest of the cast also excelled.  Misha Collins was a charming, if less-than-angelic, drug-mellowed Castiel.  And while Jared Padalecki’s presence as Lucifer was short, it was chilling.  He even snapped Dean’s neck!

Sam, Interrupted (511)

Sure, Sam was the brother of title, but it was as much about Dean’s mental state.  If you rewatch his first interaction with Dr. Erica Cartwright, particularly her diagnosis, you get a good idea of Dean’s sense of self-worth.  The episode was humorous, but also had an underlying tone of foreboding.  Jon Gries as Martin Creaser was a delightful character.  Too bad he was totally ruined in season 8.  The episode wasn’t perfect, but it was highly entertaining, and the performances were a joy to watch.

The Song Remains the Same (513)

Sam met his young mother and couldn’t stop staring at her.  Young John, driving the Impala, warned, “… not another word, or so help me, I will turn this car around!”  (Ha!) Anna met a fiery death.  (Kudos to the special effects team.)  And Michael had an ominous chat with his reluctant vessel.  It made us wonder if Team Free Will had any chance at all.

Honorable Mention

  • The Curious Case of Dean Winchester (507):  Chad Everett was perfect casting for old Dean.  Most viewers are probably too young to remember, but Chad Everett was quite the heartthrob in his day.  My mother and I bonded over our mutual crushes on him in Medical Center.  And he captured Dean perfectly.
  • Abandon All Hope (510):  Ellen and Jo went out with a (literal) bang.  An honorable ending for one beloved character, and one who grew on me.  At least Jo finally got her kiss from Dean.
  • Dark Side of the Moon:  The episode brought back some of favorite (deceased) characters.  Dean learned that Sam’s fondest memories didn’t include his family, to the bitter disappointment of amulet fans everywhere.

Well, well.  Look what I found while doing some research on IMDB. Only two more weeks.

Outlander returns in two weeks.

The Outlander media re-blitz has begun.

5 responses to “Supernatural Favorites: Season 5

  1. I think The End and Abandon All Hope were probably my favorites from this season. Number One and I sobbed forever watching the latter, and I killed her by saying I’d totally blow myself up with her rather than leave her alone. We were both affected by that one for a long time afterward.

    Add Changing Channels and The Real Ghostbusters. I always love the funny ones, and the Gabriel ones, and the meta ones. 🙂

    I also really liked I Believe the Children Are Our Future. The kid playing Jesse was so good! Going through the list, I don’t find any that I didn’t like. The guys got to show a lot of emotion in this season, and there were a lot of good songs and returns and guests. I love and resent Swap Meat in equal measure, because as fun as it was, I’ve always really wanted a Dean/Sam body swap and this episode kind of ruined that possibility.

    • I too *sob* at “Abandon All Hope,” as in audibly *sobbing.* Right now the only thing I can think of that makes that happen is the death scene in “How to Train Your Dragon 2.”

      Last night I came across a passage in the Outlander book I’m reading where the heroine basically said the same thing as you, that she’d never leave her daughter to die alone. I can’t imagine the feeling one has for one’s children, but I know it’s indescribably strong. (Oh, and this, the 3rd, will be my last Outlander book. I don’t even plan to read it all the way through. It’s time to move on to something else.)

  2. Pingback: Supernatural Favorites, Season 6 | SciFi Chick (s)

Leave a Reply

